WFD has an independent Board of Governors appointed by the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs. With effect from 1st April 2013, the Board includes four independently recruited Governors reflecting the range of WFD’s interests, and six Governors representing all UK political parties (two from the Conservative Party, two from the Labour Party, one SNP, and one representative of the Multi-Party Office).

Sir Henry Bellingham MP, Chair

Sir Henry Bellingham was first elected MP for North West Norfolk in 1983.

Between 1983 and 2003 he served on three different select committees – Environment, Northern Ireland and Trade & Industry.  From 2002 to 2005, Sir Henry served as Shadow Minister for Small Businesses, Enterprise and Construction and then from 2005 to 2006 in the Whip’s Office. From 2006 to 2010, he was Shadow Minister for Legal Services, the Court Service, the Judiciary and Family Law.  After the coalition government was formed in May 2010, Sir Henry joined the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and up until September 2012 served as the Minister for Africa, the Caribbean, Overseas Territories, the UN and conflict issues. Since leaving Government Henry was appointed Co-Chairman, with Sir David Wootton, of the London 2015 Legal Forum. This Davos style event showcased UK legal services and celebrated 800 years of the Magna Carta.

Bronwen Manby

Bronwen Manby is an independent consultant and a visiting fellow at the London School of Economics. 

Bronwen previously worked for the Open Society Foundations and Human Rights Watch, and has led programmes, written and taught on a wide range of issues related to human rights, good governance and democracy in sub-Saharan Africa, especially focusing on South Africa and Nigeria, the African Union and continental developments in human rights law, and on the right to a nationality. She has degrees from Oxford and Columbia Universities, and qualified as a solicitor in England and Wales.

Andrew Rosindell

Andrew Rosindell MP

Andrew Rosindell MP is the Conservative Member of Parliament for the constituency of Romford in Essex.

Andrew was formerly a Shadow Home Affairs Minister with special responsibility for Animal Welfare, having previously served as one of Her Majesty’s Opposition Whips and Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party. In June 2010 Andrew was elected to the Foreign Affairs Select Committee in the House of Commons. He was appointed as a Governor of the Westminster Foundation for Democracy in July 2010.

Sir Jeffrey Donaldson MP

Rt Hon Jeffrey Donaldson MP has been the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) MP for Lagan Valley in Northern Ireland since 1997. 

In 1985 he was elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly, with the distinction of being the youngest person ever to win a seat at Stormont. He is a leading figure in the Northern Ireland peace process and was a senior member of the Unionist negotiating team in the constitutional talks that led to the ‘Good Friday’ Agreement in 1998.  In 2003 he was re-elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly and, following the renewal of devolution, became Chairman of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee and Leader of the DUP delegation on the Northern Ireland Policing Board. He subsequently became a Minister in the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister with special responsibility for co-ordinating the business of the Northern Ireland Executive as well as relations with the European Union. At present he is Chief Whip of the DUP in the House of Commons.

John Osmond

John Osmond is an independent director whose governance roles have spanned the private, public and third sectors.

His 35 years’ experience in the information technology and services industry encompasses senior international positions in alliance management, strategy, transformation consultancy, programme and risk management. John is a Non-Executive Director of Remploy, Director of the Compaid Trust – a Kent based charity supporting disabled people, and a Justice of the Peace.

Rushanara Ali MP

Rushanara Ali was elected Labour Member of Parliament for Bethnal Green and Bow in May 2010.

Rushanara has served on the Labour front bench as both Shadow Minister for International Development and Shadow Minister for Education. She was also a member of the Treasury Select Committee until the last General Election. Prior to becoming an MP, she worked as Associate Director at the Young Foundation, the Home Office, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Institute for Public Policy and Research.

Ken Caldwell

Ken Caldwell is the director of Caldwell Consulting, which advises major international civil society organisations on issues of strategy, governance, and programme effectiveness.

Ken previously served as the International Director of Save the Children. He is currently a non-executive director of the Children’s Society and the National Centre for Social Research, and formerly a non-executive director of the Institute for Development Studies and of the UK Roundtable on Sustainable Development.

Dame Margaret Hodge MP

Rt Hon Dame Margaret Hodge MP has been Labour Member of Parliament for Barking since 1994. She is the former Chair of the Public Accounts Committee, the first female and elected person to take that role.

She held numerous roles throughout her career including Minister of State for Children, young people and families, Minister of State for Culture and Tourism, Industry and the region, Department for Work and Pensions and Education and Skills. In 2010 she was elected as the first Chair of the Public Accounts Committee and sat on the Liaison Committee. Margaret’s interests include public finances, education, local government, housing, inner cities, democratic reform and London government.