Putting Environmental Democracy into practice: what needs to happen?


Putting Environmental Democracy into practice: what needs to happen?

Day 3 of our Conference on Environmental Democracy concludes the three-day event with a session focusing on donor and political leadership from across the world. Participants will contribute to, and endorse, a roadmap for immediate action to bring together environmental and democracy support organisations, with political leaders and donors


Welcome and recap

12:00 - 12:15

  • Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, WFD
  • Alok Sharma MP, COP26 President (video statement)


    Opening Speech

    12:15 - 12:30

    • Theo Clarke MP, International Development Committee Member, House of Commons 

    Political leadership

    12:30 - 13:30 

    • Chair: Paul Williams, Director, Open Societies and Human Rights, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
    • Hon. Mohamed Nasheed, Speaker, Maldives Majlis
    • Han Seung-soo, Club of Madrid Vice-President, former Prime Minster of Korea
    • Hon. Fadli Zon, Chair, Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation, Indonesia
    • Hon. Emmanuel Marfo, Chair, Committee on Environment, Science and Technology, Parliament of Ghana
    • Johanna Arriagada, Action on Climate Empowerment Strategy Lead, Adaptation Team, National Climate Change Office, Chilean Ministry of the Environment
    • Shannon O'Connell, Director of Programmes, WFD


    13:30 - 14:00

    Bridging the gap: Connecting the worlds of democracy assistance and environmental protection

    14:00 - 15:30

    • Chair: Dr Lauren Van Metre, Senior Advisor, National Democratic Institute (NDI)
    • Anna George, Swedish Environmental Protection Agency
    • Ann Cathrin Pedersen, Programme Manager, Environmental Governance Programme, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

    To respond:

    • Derek Mitchell, President, National Democratic Institute
    • Kevin Casas-Zamora, Secretary-General, International IDEA
    • Andrew Norton, Director, International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)
    • Sandra Hamid, Director, Environment, The Asia Foundation (TAF)
    • Robin Prest, Simon Fraser University, International Climate Engagement Network

    Q and A with the audience


    15:30 - 15:45

    Donor leadership

    15:45 - 17:30

    • Chair: Nick Bridge, UK Special Representative for Climate Change, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
    • Jenny Ohlsson, State Secretary to the Minister for International Development Cooperation, Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs
    • Jan Wahlberg, Climate Ambassador, Finland
    • Kathryn Stratos, Deputy Director, Climate & CrossSectoral Strategy, USAID
    • Ro Tucci, Director, Center for Democracy, Human Rights and Governance, USAID
    • Anja Casper-Berretta, Head of Regional Programme for Energy Security and Climate Change in Sub-Saharan Africa of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

    Closing speech

    17:30 - 17:45

    • Lord Zac Goldsmith, UK Minister for the International Environment and Climate

    Conclusions and next steps

    17:45 - 18:00

    • Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, WFD
    • Derek Mitchell, President, National Democratic Institute